Auto Insurance Quote Forms
Looking for coverage? Click any of the following links to submit a quote for quick, accurate and affordable rates.
Auto Insurance Customer Service Options
Self policy service any time of the day, directly from our website. To request a policy change on your account, click any of the following policy service options below.
Auto Insurance Information
Louisiana Car Insurance
Serving Baton Rouge, New Orleans and surrounding areas since 1929
As an independent agency, McInnis Insurance Services, Inc. has a large number of policy options from multiple carriers to choose from. Better still, we have expert agents who can help you find a policy that meets your needs and your budget.
Sound good? Get started with a quote today!
What are the car insurance limits for Louisiana?
If you drive in Louisiana, you will need to carry a minimum of liability coverage by law. Minimum legal requirement is $15,000 for bodily injury to one person, $30,000 for bodily injury to more than one person in a single accident, and $25,000 coverage for damage to someone else’s vehicle or other property. However, it can be beneficial to have additional coverage; otherwise you could pay for your medical care and vehicle repairs yourself in the event of a claim.
Is Louisiana an at fault state?
Louisiana is in fact an at fault state. That means they have a tort liability system of auto insurance. A tort liability system means that the driver who caused the accident, or his insurance company, is responsible for all damages to other parties involved in the accident. There are steps you need to take if involved in an at fault accident. Check them out here.
Is uninsured motorist coverage required in Louisiana?
Yes, by law, Louisiana drivers are required to include uninsured motorist coverage on their policy. However, you elect not to carry this coverage you must sign a document acknowledging the rejection of it.
What happens if I don't have car insurance?
Drivers without liability insurance may also have their driving privileges suspended by having their vehicle impounded, their registrations revoked or their license plates cancelled. If one is involved in an accident without liability insurance, they may have their driver’s licenses suspended and registration revoked for 180 days. If they are caught for falsely claiming to have insurance, they may have their license revoked for 12 to 18 months.
What is Louisiana's no pay, no play statue?
The law known as “No Pay, No Play” prohibits uninsured motorists from collective the first $25,000 in property damages and the first $15,000 in personal injuries regardless of who causes the accident. This law also includes a provision that may allow one to waive their rights to make a legal claim for pain and suffering if they buy economic-only uninsured motorist coverage.
Can I be fined for not having car insurance?
Louisiana law requires that all registered owners of an automobile carry liability insurance. One may be subject to fines of $500 to $1,000 for knowingly operating a vehicle without insurance, being involved in an accident without insurance and committing fraud by falsely claiming to have insurance. There are also penalties for lack of proof of insurance or for letting your insurance lapse.
What Exactly Is Car Insurance?
Car insurance protects you against financial loss if you have an accident. It is a contract between you and the insurance company. You agree to pay the premium and the insurance company agrees to pay your losses as defined in your policy.
Car insurance provides property, liability and medical coverage:
- Property coverage pays for damage to or theft of your car.
- Liability coverage pays for your legal responsibility to others for bodily injury or property damage.
- Medical coverage pays for the cost of treating injuries, rehabilitation and sometimes lost wages and funeral expenses. See why medical coverage is important here.
An car insurance policy is comprised of six different kinds of coverage. Most states require you to buy some, but not all, of these coverages. If you're financing a car, your lender may also have requirements.
Most auto policies are for six months or a year. Your insurance company should notify you by mail when it's time to renew the policy and to pay your premium.
Do You Have a Teen That is About to Start Driving?
Louisiana has certain rules for teen drivers under the age of 18. Check out their guide here. Also talk to one of our agents about a good grades discount for students.
Why Do You Need Car Insurance?
It's really all about protecting yourself financially.
- If you're in an accident or your car is stolen, it costs money, often a lot of money, to fix or replace it.
- If you or any passengers are injured in an accident, medical costs can be extremely expensive.
- If you or your car is responsible for damage or injury to others, you may be sued for much more than you're worth.
- Not only is having insurance a prudent financial decision, many states require you to have at least some coverage.
Questions To Ask Your Agent
Your Independent Agent is an advocate for finding auto insurance that meets your specific needs. Here are a few things to consider as you prepare for the discussion:
- How much can you afford to pay if you get in an accident? (To keep premiums low you may want to have a higher deductible and be willing to pay more for repairs.)
- What is the insurance company's level of service and ability to pay claims?
- What discounts are available? (Ask about good driver, multiple policy and student discounts.) Also Read: What Can You Bundle with Your Auto Insurance?
- What's the procedure for filing and settling a claim? (Ask who to call and what happens after you file a claim.)